Family History

The Archives holds the results books recording surgeons who qualified with a postgraduate Diploma in various areas of medical science. We hold the results books for Diplomas in Public Health (1887-1935), Ophthalmic Medicine and Surgery (1920-1935), Gynaecology and Obstetrics (1930-1935), Psychological Medicine (1920-1935), Tropical Medicine (1911-1935) and Laryngology and Otology (1923-1935). These records the names of candidates, dates, results, hospitals worked in, qualifications, and fees paid.

Please see the Diploma section in our research guide for a detailed overview of the results books.

Member and Fellow Registers

The Archives holds lists and registers of the names of Members of the Company of Surgeons (1742-1800), Members (MRCS) of the College (1810-1819 and 1828-1877) and Fellows (FRCS) of the College (1900-1968). These record names, dates and status of membership, and places of residence.

Student and Apprenticeship Registers

We hold a small collection of student (1830-1858 and 1870-1871) and apprenticeship registers (1745-1846). These record the names of students/apprentices, the names of masters, places of masters’ residence, dates, terms of studentship/apprenticeship and the fees paid. There are also certificate registers (1821-1835), recording the names of exam candidates, details of their initiatory study, hospital attendance, lectures attended, and any further studies.

Please see the sections on Members and Fellows in our research guide to help you consult the relevant registers.

The College’s Council Minutes are a valuable and unique resource on the College’s governance since 1800. Information on membership, examinations, faculties, events, prizes, diplomas, committees and departments can be traced in the Minutes.

The Minutes in the Archive Collections are useful in tracing details such as names of exam candidates, examiners and College prize winners. We hold the Minutes from 1800 to 2015, however we only hold the indexes between 1800 and 1879. Printed copies of these Minutes from 1880 to 2014 can be consulted in the Library Collections, which contain indexes.

The Archives hold numerous collections of personal papers and case notes of surgeons, most whom were Fellows of the College (FRCS).

These often contain correspondence, lecture and research notes, patient case notes, diaries, scrapbooks, newspaper cuttings, illustrations and photo albums. If your ancestor was a Fellow, it is likely we may hold a selection of their records.

You can search our archive catalogue, SurgiCat, for relevant records.