LibGuides: Searching in Ovid Databases: Home

Getting to the databases

If you are not already logged into the RCS England website, please log in and then use one of the links below. This should log you into Ovid automatically, and you can find similar direct links on the Surgical Library website, and on the Databases section within the Library webpages. If you see the Ovid news page, click continue to begin searching.

If you arrive by another route, you may need to log in to Ovid. Please follow the instructions for logging into Ovid journals.

Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase increases the discovery of biomedical evidence to support critical life sciences functions, delivering relevant, up-to-date biomedical information to the global biomedical research community.
Please make sure you are logged in to the College website before clicking this link.
Key features:
- Over 30 million abstracts and indices from more than 8,500 published, peer-reviewed journals, as well as in-press publications and conferences
- More than 6 million records and indexes 2,900 journals NOT covered in MEDLINE
- Full-text indexing of drug, disease, and medical device data, supported by the precise Emtree thesaurus
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
The world’s leading bibliographic source for biomedical scholarly literature and research—with easy linking to full-text journals.
Please make sure you are logged in to the College website before clicking this link.
Updated daily, MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers novice and expert searchers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals). English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records.
HMIC This link opens in a new window
This Health Management and Policy Database, from The Healthcare Management Information Consortium (HMIC), is an invaluable source of information for health care administrators and managers.
Please make sure you are logged in to the College website before clicking this link.
Brings together the bibliographic database of two UK health and social care management organizations: the Department of Health's Library and Information Services (DH-Data) and King’s Fund Information and Library Service.

Getting help with online resources

If you're having problems, we are here to help. You can get assistance through any of the following means:

Email: library.athens@rcseng.ac.uk - we will usually respond with one working day
Telephone: 020 7869 6556 - the line is open between 9 am and 5 pm, Monday to Friday, excluding UK public holidays and College closure days
In person: members are welcome to visit the Library in person for assistance, and appointments can be arranged for in-person enquiries - please see the Library pages on the College website for more information.

It does help us if you can provide your College membership number with your enquiry - this will be on your membership page in the College website and on any personal communications sent by the College.

Searching in Ovid Databases

Getting to the databases

Getting help with online resources

Contact us: